Grok 4.6 model profile
Evidence snapshot:
Grok 4.6 is xAI's August 2026 flagship model for coding, long-running agents, research, information analysis, and interactive artifacts. Its official API profile documents 500,000 tokens of context, text and image input, text output, mandatory configurable reasoning, tool use, and structured outputs.
Grok 4.6 is xAI's August 2026 flagship model for coding, long-running agents, research, information analysis, and interactive artifacts. It accepts text and image input, returns text, and supports configurable reasoning and tool use.
Grok 4.6 is a reference profile: xAI publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call.
Grok 4.6 is an independent knowledge profile. It does not claim that Kendr hosts the model, quote a Kendr customer price, promise API availability, or advertise a Kendr routing receipt.
Grok 4.6 accepts text and image and returns text. The snapshot records agentic, code execution, coding, function calling, reasoning, structured output, text generation, vision, web search, and X search as capabilities or interfaces.
The dated unit-price records list $0.005 per search for web_search_call, $0.005 per search for x_search_call, and $0.005 per request for code_execution_call. Each figure retains its billable dimension, variant, provider, source, and evidence date.
The 2026-08-12 snapshot includes 10 publisher-reported launch results. Publisher-reported launch results are labeled and are not presented as Kendr measurements; scores from different suites are not treated as interchangeable.
No comparable popularity rank or traffic share is present in the 2026-09-06 snapshot. No comparable routing rank or traffic-share observation is attached to this dated profile; missing adoption evidence is not estimated.
Profile data was reviewed for the 2026-09-06 snapshot. Claims retain their source dates, and unavailable fields are shown as unavailable instead of estimated.
Profile facts
- Profile type
- Model research profile
- Provider or publisher
- xAI
- Context window
- 500K
- Snapshot date
- 2026-09-06
- Knowledge cutoff
- 2026-02-01
- Reference catalog ID
- x-ai/grok-4.6
When to pick Grok 4.6
Grok 4.6 is a reference profile: xAI publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call.
Each condition below is derived from this model's own values in the 2026-08-12 snapshot, compared only against models publishing the same field.
- Reach for it when the input includes images. The snapshot records image input, so screenshots, scans, and diagrams can be sent directly instead of described.
- Reach for it when the model has to call tools. Tool calling is recorded in the snapshot, so this route can drive an agent loop rather than only answer in prose.
- Look elsewhere when you need to call it through Kendr today. This is a research reference profile with no Kendr alias. The facts and evidence here are published for comparison; the model is not routable on Kendr.
- Look elsewhere when the request is trivial and latency-sensitive. Reasoning is mandatory on this route and cannot be turned off, so short factual requests still pay reasoning tokens and reasoning latency.
Context, modalities, and identity
Grok 4.6 accepts text and image and returns text. The snapshot records agentic, code execution, coding, function calling, reasoning, structured output, text generation, vision, web search, and X search as capabilities or interfaces.
- Provider or publisher
- xAI
- Context window
- 500K
- Maximum output
- xAI states that Grok 4.6 has no text output limit; it does not publish a numeric output-token cap.
- Input modalities
- text and image
- Output modalities
- text
- Knowledge cutoff
- 2026-02-01
Model overview
Grok 4.6 is xAI's August 2026 flagship model for coding, long-running agents, research, information analysis, and interactive artifacts. It accepts text and image input, returns text, and supports configurable reasoning and tool use.
- Reference model ID
- x-ai/grok-4.6
- Canonical version
- x-ai/grok-4.6
- Hugging Face ID
- Not separately documented
Capabilities and supported controls
Capabilities and parameters are reported from the dated catalog and source records; their presence does not guarantee identical behavior across every provider route.
- Supported parameters
- prompt_cache_key, reasoning_effort, response_format, service_tier, tool_choice, tools
- agentic
- code execution
- coding
- function calling
- reasoning
- structured output
- text generation
- vision
- web search
- X search
Dated pricing snapshot
The dated unit-price records list $0.005 per search for web_search_call, $0.005 per search for x_search_call, and $0.005 per request for code_execution_call. Each figure retains its billable dimension, variant, provider, source, and evidence date.
These are dated third-party reference prices, not Kendr prices or an availability offer. Routes, tiers, caching, region, and provider policy can change the landed price.
- Price date
- 2026-08-12
- Input
- $2 per 1M tokens
- Cached input
- $0.5 per 1M tokens
- Output
- $6 per 1M tokens
| Prompt threshold | Input | Cached input | Output |
|---|---|---|---|
| From 200,000 prompt tokens | $4 / 1M | $1 / 1M | $12 / 1M |
Benchmark evidence and limitations
The 2026-08-12 snapshot includes 10 publisher-reported launch results. Publisher-reported launch results are labeled and are not presented as Kendr measurements; scores from different suites are not treated as interchangeable.
Launch results reported by xAI for Grok 4.6 High. Kendr has not independently reproduced them; evaluation configurations and units differ by suite.
- AA Intelligence Index (reported by publisher)
- 61
- GDPVal-AA v2 (reported by publisher)
- 1,753
- CursorBench v3.2 (reported by publisher)
- 69.9%
- DeepSWE v1.1 (reported by publisher)
- 65.9%
- FrontierCode Extended v1.1 (reported by publisher)
- 61.3%
- APEX-Agents (reported by publisher)
- 57.5%
- Terminal-Bench v3.0 (reported by publisher)
- 26%
- APEX-SWE (reported by publisher)
- 56.4%
- AA-Briefcase (reported by publisher)
- 1,577
- Harvey LAB (Vals) (reported by publisher)
- 15.8%
| Evaluation | Version | Published score | Unit | Provenance | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AA Intelligence Index | Not specified | 61 | index | Publisher-reported | 2026-08-12 |
| GDPVal-AA | v2 | 1,753 | reported score | Publisher-reported | 2026-08-12 |
| CursorBench | v3.2 | 69.9% | percent | Publisher-reported | 2026-08-12 |
| DeepSWE | v1.1 | 65.9% | percent | Publisher-reported | 2026-08-12 |
| FrontierCode Extended | v1.1 | 61.3% | percent | Publisher-reported | 2026-08-12 |
| APEX-Agents | Not specified | 57.5% | percent | Publisher-reported | 2026-08-12 |
| Terminal-Bench | v3.0 | 26% | percent | Publisher-reported | 2026-08-12 |
| APEX-SWE | Not specified | 56.4% | percent | Publisher-reported | 2026-08-12 |
| AA-Briefcase | Not specified | 1,577 | reported score | Publisher-reported | 2026-08-12 |
| Harvey LAB (Vals) | Not specified | 15.8% | percent | Publisher-reported | 2026-08-12 |
Popularity and market context
No comparable popularity rank or traffic share is present in the 2026-09-06 snapshot. No comparable routing rank or traffic-share observation is attached to this dated profile; missing adoption evidence is not estimated.
- Third-party catalog rank
- No verified rank
- Global market share
- Not inferred
- Observation date
- 2026-09-06
Frequently asked questions
When should I use Grok 4.6?
Grok 4.6 is a reference profile: xAI publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call. Reach for it when the input includes images: The snapshot records image input, so screenshots, scans, and diagrams can be sent directly instead of described. Reach for it when the model has to call tools: Tool calling is recorded in the snapshot, so this route can drive an agent loop rather than only answer in prose. Look elsewhere when you need to call it through Kendr today: This is a research reference profile with no Kendr alias. The facts and evidence here are published for comparison; the model is not routable on Kendr. Look elsewhere when the request is trivial and latency-sensitive: Reasoning is mandatory on this route and cannot be turned off, so short factual requests still pay reasoning tokens and reasoning latency.
What is Grok 4.6?
Grok 4.6 is xAI's August 2026 flagship model for coding, long-running agents, research, information analysis, and interactive artifacts. Its official API profile documents 500,000 tokens of context, text and image input, text output, mandatory configurable reasoning, tool use, and structured outputs.
What context window does Grok 4.6 have?
The dated profile lists 500K of context. Provider routes, variants, and runtime configuration can impose lower effective limits.
What benchmark evidence is available for Grok 4.6?
The 2026-08-12 snapshot includes 10 publisher-reported launch results. Publisher-reported launch results are labeled and are not presented as Kendr measurements; scores from different suites are not treated as interchangeable. Launch results reported by xAI for Grok 4.6 High. Kendr has not independently reproduced them; evaluation configurations and units differ by suite.
Is Grok 4.6 available through Kendr?
This is an independent knowledge profile, not a Kendr-hosted availability claim. Check Kendr's live public model API for currently enabled Kendr aliases.
Does the popularity rank represent Grok 4.6's global market share?
No comparable popularity rank or traffic share is present in the 2026-09-06 snapshot. No comparable routing rank or traffic-share observation is attached to this dated profile; missing adoption evidence is not estimated. No global market-share percentage is inferred when the source does not publish one.
Sources and evidence dates
- Introducing Grok 4.6 (primary, checked 2026-08-12)
- Grok 4.6 developer guide (primary, checked 2026-08-12)
- Grok 4.6 model reference (primary, checked 2026-08-12)
- xAI API pricing (primary, checked 2026-08-12)
- xAI reasoning controls (primary, checked 2026-08-12)