Step 3.7 Flash model profile
Evidence snapshot:
Step 3.7 Flash is a StepFun model profile with a 262,144-token context window. The dated catalog snapshot records text, image, video modalities and interfaces for prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation, tool calling.
Step 3.7 Flash is StepFun's latest high-efficiency multimodal Mixture-of-Experts model. It pairs a 196B-parameter language backbone with a vision encoder for native image and video understanding, activating roughly 11B parameters per token. The model supports a 256K context window and exposes selectable reasoning levels (high/medium/low), letting callers trade off speed, cost, and depth of reasoning. Designed for coding, agentic workflows, structured outputs, and long-context productivity tasks.
Step 3.7 Flash is a reference profile: StepFun publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call.
Step 3.7 Flash is an independent knowledge profile. It does not claim that Kendr hosts the model, quote a Kendr customer price, promise API availability, or advertise a Kendr routing receipt.
Step 3.7 Flash accepts text, image, and video and returns text. The snapshot records prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation, tool calling, video input, and vision as capabilities or interfaces.
The dated reference snapshot lists $0.16 input and $0.92 output per million tokens. Cached input is $0.032 per million tokens.
The 2026-09-06 snapshot includes 1 Artificial Analysis index and 8 Design Arena categories. Publisher-reported launch results are labeled and are not presented as Kendr measurements; scores from different suites are not treated as interchangeable.
Step 3.7 Flash ranked #33 in the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset as of 2026-09-06. Observed within the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset; this is not global AI market share.
Profile data was reviewed for the 2026-09-06 snapshot. Claims retain their source dates, and unavailable fields are shown as unavailable instead of estimated.
Profile facts
- Profile type
- Model research profile
- Provider or publisher
- StepFun
- Context window
- 262,144 tokens
- Snapshot date
- 2026-09-06
- Knowledge cutoff
- Not disclosed
- Reference catalog ID
- stepfun/step-3.7-flash
When to pick Step 3.7 Flash
Step 3.7 Flash is a reference profile: StepFun publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call.
Each condition below is derived from this model's own values in the 2026-09-06 snapshot, compared only against models publishing the same field.
- Reach for it when the input includes images. The snapshot records image input, so screenshots, scans, and diagrams can be sent directly instead of described.
- Reach for it when the model has to call tools. Tool calling is recorded in the snapshot, so this route can drive an agent loop rather than only answer in prose.
- Look elsewhere when you need to call it through Kendr today. This is a research reference profile with no Kendr alias. The facts and evidence here are published for comparison; the model is not routable on Kendr.
- Look elsewhere when the request is trivial and latency-sensitive. Reasoning is mandatory on this route and cannot be turned off, so short factual requests still pay reasoning tokens and reasoning latency.
Context, modalities, and identity
Step 3.7 Flash accepts text, image, and video and returns text. The snapshot records prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation, tool calling, video input, and vision as capabilities or interfaces.
- Provider or publisher
- StepFun
- Context window
- 262,144 tokens
- Maximum output
- 230,400 tokens
- Input modalities
- text, image, and video
- Output modalities
- text
- Knowledge cutoff
- Not disclosed
Model overview
Step 3.7 Flash is StepFun's latest high-efficiency multimodal Mixture-of-Experts model. It pairs a 196B-parameter language backbone with a vision encoder for native image and video understanding, activating roughly 11B parameters per token. The model supports a 256K context window and exposes selectable reasoning levels (high/medium/low), letting callers trade off speed, cost, and depth of reasoning. Designed for coding, agentic workflows, structured outputs, and long-context productivity tasks.
- Reference model ID
- stepfun/step-3.7-flash
- Canonical version
- stepfun/step-3.7-flash-20260528
- Hugging Face ID
- stepfun-ai/Step-3.7-Flash
Capabilities and supported controls
Capabilities and parameters are reported from the dated catalog and source records; their presence does not guarantee identical behavior across every provider route.
- Supported parameters
- frequency_penalty, include_reasoning, logit_bias, logprobs, max_tokens, min_p, presence_penalty, reasoning, reasoning_effort, repetition_penalty, response_format, seed, stop, structured_outputs, temperature, tool_choice, tools, top_k, top_logprobs, top_p
- prompt caching
- reasoning controls
- structured output
- text generation
- tool calling
- video input
- vision
Dated pricing snapshot
The dated reference snapshot lists $0.16 input and $0.92 output per million tokens. Cached input is $0.032 per million tokens.
These are dated third-party reference prices, not Kendr prices or an availability offer. Routes, tiers, caching, region, and provider policy can change the landed price.
- Price date
- 2026-09-06
- Input
- $0.16 per 1M tokens
- Cached input
- $0.032 per 1M tokens
- Output
- $0.92 per 1M tokens
Provider routes, performance, and uptime
The snapshot retains 3 provider endpoints. Provider prices, context limits, p50 performance, and uptime can differ by route and are not Kendr guarantees.
- Active provider endpoints
- 3
- Best p50 latency
- 0.25 s
- Best p50 throughput
- 102 tok/s
- Availability with routing
- 99.96% over the sampled window
- Availability without routing
- 98.97% over the sampled window
- Performance date
- 2026-09-06
| Provider | Quantization | Input / 1M | Output / 1M | Cache read / 1M | Context | p50 latency | p50 throughput | Uptime (1d) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DeepInfra | unknown | $0.16 / 1M | $0.92 / 1M | $0.032 / 1M | 262,144 tokens | 0.25 s | 102 tok/s | 99.90% |
| NovitaAI | fp8 | $0.2 / 1M | $1.15 / 1M | $0.04 / 1M | 262,144 tokens | 2.20 s | 8 tok/s | 98.60% |
| StepFun | fp8 | $0.2 / 1M | $1.15 / 1M | $0.04 / 1M | 256,000 tokens | 4.82 s | 40 tok/s | 98.18% |
Benchmark evidence and limitations
The 2026-09-06 snapshot includes 1 Artificial Analysis index and 8 Design Arena categories. Publisher-reported launch results are labeled and are not presented as Kendr measurements; scores from different suites are not treated as interchangeable.
Third-party catalog fields normalized from the cited model dataset; benchmark methodology and coverage differ by source.
- Coding Index
- 39.6
| Design Arena category | Elo | Win rate | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3d | 1164 | 41.8% | #63 |
| asciiart | 1175 | 45.4% | #30 |
| codecategories | 1196 | 43.8% | #53 |
| dataviz | 1193 | 44.2% | #54 |
| gamedev | 1184 | 40.5% | #57 |
| svg | 1108 | 37.7% | #59 |
| uicomponent | 1199 | 43.5% | #52 |
| website | 1207 | 45.1% | #52 |
Popularity and market context
Step 3.7 Flash ranked #33 in the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset as of 2026-09-06. Observed within the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset; this is not global AI market share.
- Third-party catalog rank
- #33
- Global market share
- Not inferred
- Observation date
- 2026-09-06
Frequently asked questions
When should I use Step 3.7 Flash?
Step 3.7 Flash is a reference profile: StepFun publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call. Reach for it when the input includes images: The snapshot records image input, so screenshots, scans, and diagrams can be sent directly instead of described. Reach for it when the model has to call tools: Tool calling is recorded in the snapshot, so this route can drive an agent loop rather than only answer in prose. Look elsewhere when you need to call it through Kendr today: This is a research reference profile with no Kendr alias. The facts and evidence here are published for comparison; the model is not routable on Kendr. Look elsewhere when the request is trivial and latency-sensitive: Reasoning is mandatory on this route and cannot be turned off, so short factual requests still pay reasoning tokens and reasoning latency.
What is Step 3.7 Flash?
Step 3.7 Flash is a StepFun model profile with a 262,144-token context window. The dated catalog snapshot records text, image, video modalities and interfaces for prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation, tool calling.
What context window does Step 3.7 Flash have?
The dated profile lists 262,144 tokens of context and up to 230,400 output tokens. Provider routes, variants, and runtime configuration can impose lower effective limits.
What benchmark evidence is available for Step 3.7 Flash?
The 2026-09-06 snapshot includes 1 Artificial Analysis index and 8 Design Arena categories. Publisher-reported launch results are labeled and are not presented as Kendr measurements; scores from different suites are not treated as interchangeable. Third-party catalog fields normalized from the cited model dataset; benchmark methodology and coverage differ by source.
Is Step 3.7 Flash available through Kendr?
This is an independent knowledge profile, not a Kendr-hosted availability claim. Check Kendr's live public model API for currently enabled Kendr aliases.
Does the popularity rank represent Step 3.7 Flash's global market share?
Step 3.7 Flash ranked #33 in the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset as of 2026-09-06. Observed within the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset; this is not global AI market share. No global market-share percentage is inferred when the source does not publish one.
Sources and evidence dates
- Step 3.7 Flash third-party catalog record (catalog, checked 2026-09-06)
- Third-party model catalog methodology (methodology, checked 2026-09-06)
- Artificial Analysis capability indices methodology (benchmark, checked 2026-09-06)
- Design Arena leaderboard and methodology (benchmark, checked 2026-09-06)