GPT-6 Astra Pro model profile
Evidence snapshot:
GPT-6 Astra Pro is a OpenAI model profile with a 1,050,000-token context window. The dated catalog snapshot records file, image, text modalities and interfaces for file input, prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation.
GPT-6 Astra Pro is the same underlying model as GPT-6 Astra, served with reasoning.mode set to pro for higher-quality responses on complex tasks. Learn more in OpenAI's docs:
GPT-6 Astra Pro is a reference profile: OpenAI publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call.
GPT-6 Astra Pro is an independent knowledge profile. It does not claim that Kendr hosts the model, quote a Kendr customer price, promise API availability, or advertise a Kendr routing receipt.
GPT-6 Astra Pro accepts file, image, and text and returns text. The snapshot records file input, prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation, tool calling, vision, and web search pricing as capabilities or interfaces.
The dated reference snapshot lists $5 input and $25 output per million tokens. Cached input is $0.5 per million tokens.
No comparable third-party benchmark value is present in the 2026-09-06 snapshot. Missing values are not estimated.
No comparable popularity rank or traffic share is present in the 2026-09-06 snapshot. No comparable routing rank or traffic-share observation is attached to this dated profile; missing adoption evidence is not estimated.
Profile data was reviewed for the 2026-09-06 snapshot. Claims retain their source dates, and unavailable fields are shown as unavailable instead of estimated.
Profile facts
- Profile type
- Model research profile
- Provider or publisher
- OpenAI
- Context window
- 1,050,000 tokens
- Snapshot date
- 2026-09-06
- Knowledge cutoff
- Not disclosed
- Reference catalog ID
- openai/gpt-6-astra-pro
When to pick GPT-6 Astra Pro
GPT-6 Astra Pro is a reference profile: OpenAI publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call.
Each condition below is derived from this model's own values in the 2026-09-06 snapshot, compared only against models publishing the same field.
- Reach for it when a whole corpus has to fit in one prompt. The 1.05M-token context window is in the top quarter of the 163 models publishing a limit here, so long documents can go in whole rather than chunked.
- Reach for it when the input includes images. The snapshot records image input, so screenshots, scans, and diagrams can be sent directly instead of described.
- Reach for it when the model has to call tools. Tool calling is recorded in the snapshot, so this route can drive an agent loop rather than only answer in prose.
- Look elsewhere when you need to call it through Kendr today. This is a research reference profile with no Kendr alias. The facts and evidence here are published for comparison; the model is not routable on Kendr.
- Look elsewhere when the work does not justify the rate. At $5 in and $25 out per 1M tokens, this is in the most expensive tenth of the 146 models publishing both rates. Route routine or high-volume traffic to a cheaper model and keep this one for work that needs it.
- Look elsewhere when the request is trivial and latency-sensitive. Reasoning is mandatory on this route and cannot be turned off, so short factual requests still pay reasoning tokens and reasoning latency.
Context, modalities, and identity
GPT-6 Astra Pro accepts file, image, and text and returns text. The snapshot records file input, prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation, tool calling, vision, and web search pricing as capabilities or interfaces.
- Provider or publisher
- OpenAI
- Context window
- 1,050,000 tokens
- Maximum output
- 128,000 tokens
- Input modalities
- file, image, and text
- Output modalities
- text
- Knowledge cutoff
- Not disclosed
Model overview
GPT-6 Astra Pro is the same underlying model as GPT-6 Astra, served with reasoning.mode set to pro for higher-quality responses on complex tasks. Learn more in OpenAI's docs:
- Reference model ID
- openai/gpt-6-astra-pro
- Canonical version
- openai/gpt-6-astra-pro-20260903
- Hugging Face ID
- Not separately documented
Capabilities and supported controls
Capabilities and parameters are reported from the dated catalog and source records; their presence does not guarantee identical behavior across every provider route.
- Supported parameters
- include_reasoning, max_completion_tokens, max_tokens, reasoning, reasoning_effort, response_format, seed, structured_outputs, tool_choice, tools
- file input
- prompt caching
- reasoning controls
- structured output
- text generation
- tool calling
- vision
- web search pricing
Dated pricing snapshot
The dated reference snapshot lists $5 input and $25 output per million tokens. Cached input is $0.5 per million tokens.
These are dated third-party reference prices, not Kendr prices or an availability offer. Routes, tiers, caching, region, and provider policy can change the landed price.
- Price date
- 2026-09-06
- Input
- $5 per 1M tokens
- Cached input
- $0.5 per 1M tokens
- Output
- $25 per 1M tokens
| Prompt threshold | Input | Cached input | Output |
|---|---|---|---|
| From 272,000 prompt tokens | $20 / 1M | $2 / 1M | $75 / 1M |
Provider routes, performance, and uptime
The snapshot retains 5 provider endpoints. Provider prices, context limits, p50 performance, and uptime can differ by route and are not Kendr guarantees.
- Active provider endpoints
- 5
- Best p50 latency
- No recent metric
- Best p50 throughput
- No recent metric
- Availability with routing
- No recent metric
- Availability without routing
- No recent metric
- Performance date
- 2026-09-06
| Provider | Quantization | Input / 1M | Output / 1M | Cache read / 1M | Context | p50 latency | p50 throughput | Uptime (1d) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI | unknown | $5 / 1M | $25 / 1M | $0.5 / 1M | 1,050,000 tokens | No recent p50 | No recent p50 | 100.00% |
| Azure | unknown | $10 / 1M | $50 / 1M | $1 / 1M | 1,050,000 tokens | No recent p50 | No recent p50 | 97.97% |
| OpenAI | unknown | $10 / 1M | $50 / 1M | $1 / 1M | 1,050,000 tokens | No recent p50 | No recent p50 | 99.74% |
| Azure | unknown | $11 / 1M | $55 / 1M | $1.1 / 1M | 1,050,000 tokens | No recent p50 | No recent p50 | 95.01% |
| OpenAI | unknown | $20 / 1M | $100 / 1M | $2 / 1M | 1,050,000 tokens | No recent p50 | No recent p50 | 100.00% |
Benchmark evidence and limitations
No comparable third-party benchmark value is present in the 2026-09-06 snapshot. Missing values are not estimated.
Third-party catalog fields normalized from the cited model dataset; benchmark methodology and coverage differ by source.
Popularity and market context
No comparable popularity rank or traffic share is present in the 2026-09-06 snapshot. No comparable routing rank or traffic-share observation is attached to this dated profile; missing adoption evidence is not estimated.
- Third-party catalog rank
- No verified rank
- Global market share
- Not inferred
- Observation date
- 2026-09-06
Frequently asked questions
When should I use GPT-6 Astra Pro?
GPT-6 Astra Pro is a reference profile: OpenAI publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call. Reach for it when a whole corpus has to fit in one prompt: The 1.05M-token context window is in the top quarter of the 163 models publishing a limit here, so long documents can go in whole rather than chunked. Reach for it when the input includes images: The snapshot records image input, so screenshots, scans, and diagrams can be sent directly instead of described. Reach for it when the model has to call tools: Tool calling is recorded in the snapshot, so this route can drive an agent loop rather than only answer in prose. Look elsewhere when you need to call it through Kendr today: This is a research reference profile with no Kendr alias. The facts and evidence here are published for comparison; the model is not routable on Kendr. Look elsewhere when the work does not justify the rate: At $5 in and $25 out per 1M tokens, this is in the most expensive tenth of the 146 models publishing both rates. Route routine or high-volume traffic to a cheaper model and keep this one for work that needs it. Look elsewhere when the request is trivial and latency-sensitive: Reasoning is mandatory on this route and cannot be turned off, so short factual requests still pay reasoning tokens and reasoning latency.
What is GPT-6 Astra Pro?
GPT-6 Astra Pro is a OpenAI model profile with a 1,050,000-token context window. The dated catalog snapshot records file, image, text modalities and interfaces for file input, prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation.
What context window does GPT-6 Astra Pro have?
The dated profile lists 1,050,000 tokens of context and up to 128,000 output tokens. Provider routes, variants, and runtime configuration can impose lower effective limits.
What benchmark evidence is available for GPT-6 Astra Pro?
No comparable third-party benchmark value is present in the 2026-09-06 snapshot. Missing values are not estimated. Third-party catalog fields normalized from the cited model dataset; benchmark methodology and coverage differ by source.
Is GPT-6 Astra Pro available through Kendr?
This is an independent knowledge profile, not a Kendr-hosted availability claim. Check Kendr's live public model API for currently enabled Kendr aliases.
Does the popularity rank represent GPT-6 Astra Pro's global market share?
No comparable popularity rank or traffic share is present in the 2026-09-06 snapshot. No comparable routing rank or traffic-share observation is attached to this dated profile; missing adoption evidence is not estimated. No global market-share percentage is inferred when the source does not publish one.
Sources and evidence dates
- GPT-6 Astra Pro third-party catalog record (catalog, checked 2026-09-06)
- Third-party model catalog methodology (methodology, checked 2026-09-06)
- OpenAI official model documentation (primary, checked 2026-09-06)