MiniMax M3 model profile

Evidence snapshot:

MiniMax M3 is a MiniMax model profile with a 1,048,576-token context window. The dated catalog snapshot records text, image, video modalities and interfaces for prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation, tool calling.

MiniMax-M3 is a multimodal foundation model from MiniMax. It supports text, image, and video inputs with text output, a 1M-token context window, and is suited for long-horizon agentic work, coding, and tool use. It is built on MiniMax Sparse Attention (MSA), which replaces full attention with KV-block selection to cut per-token compute at long context — roughly 1/20 the cost of the previous generation at 1M tokens, with substantially faster prefill and decode while retaining quality across most tasks. Trained as a native multimodal model on interleaved data and tuned for multi-turn, production-like collaboration via an interactive user-simulator framework, the model is oriented toward sustained, multi-step tasks rather than single-turn execution.

MiniMax M3 is a reference profile: MiniMax publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call.

MiniMax M3 is an independent knowledge profile. It does not claim that Kendr hosts the model, quote a Kendr customer price, promise API availability, or advertise a Kendr routing receipt.

MiniMax M3 accepts text, image, and video and returns text. The snapshot records prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation, tool calling, video input, and vision as capabilities or interfaces.

The dated reference snapshot lists $0.23 input and $0.96 output per million tokens. Cached input is $0.05 per million tokens.

The 2026-09-06 snapshot includes 3 Artificial Analysis indexes, 15 Design Arena categories, and AutoExacto results for 14 provider observations. Publisher-reported launch results are labeled and are not presented as Kendr measurements; scores from different suites are not treated as interchangeable.

MiniMax M3 ranked #16 in the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset as of 2026-09-06. Observed within the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset; this is not global AI market share.

Profile data was reviewed for the 2026-09-06 snapshot. Claims retain their source dates, and unavailable fields are shown as unavailable instead of estimated.

Profile facts

Profile type
Model research profile
Provider or publisher
MiniMax
Context window
1,048,576 tokens
Snapshot date
2026-09-06
Knowledge cutoff
Not disclosed
Reference catalog ID
minimax/minimax-m3

When to pick MiniMax M3

MiniMax M3 is a reference profile: MiniMax publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call.

Each condition below is derived from this model's own values in the 2026-09-06 snapshot, compared only against models publishing the same field.

  • Reach for it when a whole corpus has to fit in one prompt. The 1.05M-token context window is in the top quarter of the 163 models publishing a limit here, so long documents can go in whole rather than chunked.
  • Reach for it when the input includes images. The snapshot records image input, so screenshots, scans, and diagrams can be sent directly instead of described.
  • Reach for it when the model has to call tools. Tool calling is recorded in the snapshot, so this route can drive an agent loop rather than only answer in prose.
  • Look elsewhere when you need to call it through Kendr today. This is a research reference profile with no Kendr alias. The facts and evidence here are published for comparison; the model is not routable on Kendr.
  • Look elsewhere when the task is hard reasoning. Its 35.7 Artificial Analysis intelligence index is below the median of the 32 models carrying that field. Scores from different suites are not interchangeable, so treat this as one signal rather than a ranking.

Context, modalities, and identity

MiniMax M3 accepts text, image, and video and returns text. The snapshot records prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation, tool calling, video input, and vision as capabilities or interfaces.

Provider or publisher
MiniMax
Context window
1,048,576 tokens
Maximum output
512,000 tokens
Input modalities
text, image, and video
Output modalities
text
Knowledge cutoff
Not disclosed

Model overview

MiniMax-M3 is a multimodal foundation model from MiniMax. It supports text, image, and video inputs with text output, a 1M-token context window, and is suited for long-horizon agentic work, coding, and tool use. It is built on MiniMax Sparse Attention (MSA), which replaces full attention with KV-block selection to cut per-token compute at long context — roughly 1/20 the cost of the previous generation at 1M tokens, with substantially faster prefill and decode while retaining quality across most tasks. Trained as a native multimodal model on interleaved data and tuned for multi-turn, production-like collaboration via an interactive user-simulator framework, the model is oriented toward sustained, multi-step tasks rather than single-turn execution.

Reference model ID
minimax/minimax-m3
Canonical version
minimax/minimax-m3-20260531
Hugging Face ID
MiniMaxAI/Minimax-M3

Capabilities and supported controls

Capabilities and parameters are reported from the dated catalog and source records; their presence does not guarantee identical behavior across every provider route.

Supported parameters
frequency_penalty, include_reasoning, logit_bias, logprobs, max_tokens, min_p, presence_penalty, reasoning, repetition_penalty, response_format, seed, stop, structured_outputs, temperature, tool_choice, tools, top_k, top_logprobs, top_p
  • prompt caching
  • reasoning controls
  • structured output
  • text generation
  • tool calling
  • video input
  • vision

Dated pricing snapshot

The dated reference snapshot lists $0.23 input and $0.96 output per million tokens. Cached input is $0.05 per million tokens.

These are dated third-party reference prices, not Kendr prices or an availability offer. Routes, tiers, caching, region, and provider policy can change the landed price.

Price date
2026-09-06
Input
$0.23 per 1M tokens
Cached input
$0.05 per 1M tokens
Output
$0.96 per 1M tokens

Provider routes, performance, and uptime

The snapshot retains 12 provider endpoints. Provider prices, context limits, p50 performance, and uptime can differ by route and are not Kendr guarantees.

Active provider endpoints
12
Best p50 latency
0.39 s
Best p50 throughput
150 tok/s
Availability with routing
99.89% over the sampled window
Availability without routing
97.84% over the sampled window
Performance date
2026-09-06
ProviderQuantizationInput / 1MOutput / 1MCache read / 1MContextp50 latencyp50 throughputUptime (1d)
CoreWeavefp4$0.23 / 1M$0.96 / 1M$0.05 / 1M262,144 tokens0.39 s129 tok/s99.89%
DeepInfrafp8$0.28 / 1M$1.1 / 1M$0.056 / 1M524,288 tokens1.07 s38 tok/s99.26%
StreamLakefp8$0.3 / 1M$1.2 / 1M$0.06 / 1M1,000,000 tokens1.24 s84 tok/s99.47%
Venicefp8$0.3 / 1M$1.2 / 1M$0.06 / 1M524,288 tokens1.31 s105 tok/s99.95%
Togetherunknown$0.3 / 1M$1.2 / 1M$0.06 / 1M524,288 tokens0.99 s51 tok/s99.94%
Parasailfp8$0.3 / 1M$1.2 / 1M$0.06 / 1M1,048,576 tokens0.55 s65 tok/s99.56%
AtlasCloudfp8$0.3 / 1M$1.2 / 1M$0.06 / 1M524,300 tokens0.96 s26 tok/s99.74%
NovitaAIfp8$0.3 / 1M$1.2 / 1M$0.06 / 1M1,000,000 tokens1.48 s44 tok/s99.46%
MiniMaxfp8$0.3 / 1M$1.2 / 1M$0.06 / 1M524,288 tokens0.98 s70 tok/s99.67%
SambaNovaunknown$0.6 / 1M$2.4 / 1MNo verified rate1,048,576 tokens1.37 s142 tok/s98.53%
GMICloudfp8$0.6 / 1M$2.4 / 1M$0.12 / 1M1,048,576 tokens1.18 s95 tok/s99.38%
ModelRun [by Modular]fp4$0.75 / 1M$3 / 1M$0.15 / 1M1,048,576 tokens0.43 s150 tok/s99.82%

Benchmark evidence and limitations

The 2026-09-06 snapshot includes 3 Artificial Analysis indexes, 15 Design Arena categories, and AutoExacto results for 14 provider observations. Publisher-reported launch results are labeled and are not presented as Kendr measurements; scores from different suites are not treated as interchangeable.

Third-party catalog fields normalized from the cited model dataset; benchmark methodology and coverage differ by source.

Intelligence Index
35.7
Coding Index
58.6
Agentic Index
31
AutoExacto coverage
14 provider observations over 32 days
Design Arena categoryEloWin rateRank
agenticgamedev115844.5%#18
androidnative117143.6%#23
fullstack120349.3%#15
htmlslides118646.3%#10
mobileapps119746.1%#19
python-pptxslides122949.1%#10
webapps122749%#17
3d124952.1%#33
asciiart118547.7%#27
codecategories126752.4%#28
dataviz125451.8%#30
gamedev124247.8%#36
svg120548.5%#30
uicomponent126751.9%#29
website127252.9%#27

AutoExacto provider benchmarks

Rolling provider observations from the cited third-party benchmark view. The lookback is 32 days; GPQA Diamond and TAU-Bench Airline measure different abilities and should not be blended into one score.

ProviderGPQA DiamondTAU-Bench AirlineRuns
AtlasCloud82.02%69.17%5
auto-routing89.58%74.5%5
CoreWeave90.96%—4
DeepInfra89.56%71.14%5
GMICloud89.69%—5
MiniMax91.56%70.87%5
ModelRun [by Modular]89.23%74.12%5
Morph86.66%67.02%3
NovitaAI89.96%70.47%5
Parasail90.03%72.92%5
SambaNova80.58%—2
StreamLake89.3%—5
Together90.03%76.5%4
Venice89.62%72.43%5

Popularity and market context

MiniMax M3 ranked #16 in the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset as of 2026-09-06. Observed within the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset; this is not global AI market share.

Third-party catalog rank
#16
Global market share
Not inferred
Observation date
2026-09-06

Frequently asked questions

When should I use MiniMax M3?

MiniMax M3 is a reference profile: MiniMax publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call. Reach for it when a whole corpus has to fit in one prompt: The 1.05M-token context window is in the top quarter of the 163 models publishing a limit here, so long documents can go in whole rather than chunked. Reach for it when the input includes images: The snapshot records image input, so screenshots, scans, and diagrams can be sent directly instead of described. Reach for it when the model has to call tools: Tool calling is recorded in the snapshot, so this route can drive an agent loop rather than only answer in prose. Look elsewhere when you need to call it through Kendr today: This is a research reference profile with no Kendr alias. The facts and evidence here are published for comparison; the model is not routable on Kendr. Look elsewhere when the task is hard reasoning: Its 35.7 Artificial Analysis intelligence index is below the median of the 32 models carrying that field. Scores from different suites are not interchangeable, so treat this as one signal rather than a ranking.

What is MiniMax M3?

MiniMax M3 is a MiniMax model profile with a 1,048,576-token context window. The dated catalog snapshot records text, image, video modalities and interfaces for prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation, tool calling.

What context window does MiniMax M3 have?

The dated profile lists 1,048,576 tokens of context and up to 512,000 output tokens. Provider routes, variants, and runtime configuration can impose lower effective limits.

What benchmark evidence is available for MiniMax M3?

The 2026-09-06 snapshot includes 3 Artificial Analysis indexes, 15 Design Arena categories, and AutoExacto results for 14 provider observations. Publisher-reported launch results are labeled and are not presented as Kendr measurements; scores from different suites are not treated as interchangeable. Third-party catalog fields normalized from the cited model dataset; benchmark methodology and coverage differ by source.

Is MiniMax M3 available through Kendr?

This is an independent knowledge profile, not a Kendr-hosted availability claim. Check Kendr's live public model API for currently enabled Kendr aliases.

Does the popularity rank represent MiniMax M3's global market share?

MiniMax M3 ranked #16 in the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset as of 2026-09-06. Observed within the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset; this is not global AI market share. No global market-share percentage is inferred when the source does not publish one.

Sources and evidence dates

  1. MiniMax M3 third-party catalog record (catalog, checked 2026-09-06)
  2. Third-party model catalog methodology (methodology, checked 2026-09-06)
  3. MiniMax official model documentation (primary, checked 2026-09-06)
  4. Artificial Analysis capability indices methodology (benchmark, checked 2026-09-06)
  5. Design Arena leaderboard and methodology (benchmark, checked 2026-09-06)
  6. MiniMax M3 third-party catalog record (benchmark, checked 2026-09-06)