Gemma 4 31B model profile
Evidence snapshot:
Gemma 4 31B is a Google model profile with a 262,144-token context window. The dated catalog snapshot records image, text, video modalities and interfaces for prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation, tool calling.
Gemma 4 31B Instruct is Google DeepMind's 30.7B dense multimodal model supporting text and image input with text output. Features a 256K token context window, configurable thinking/reasoning mode, native function calling, and multilingual support across 140+ languages. Strong on coding, reasoning, and document understanding tasks. Apache 2.0 license.
Gemma 4 31B is a reference profile: Google publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call.
Gemma 4 31B is an independent knowledge profile. It does not claim that Kendr hosts the model, quote a Kendr customer price, promise API availability, or advertise a Kendr routing receipt.
Gemma 4 31B accepts image, text, and video and returns text. The snapshot records prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation, tool calling, video input, and vision as capabilities or interfaces.
The dated reference snapshot lists $0.09 input and $0.34 output per million tokens. Cached input is $0.012 per million tokens.
The 2026-09-06 snapshot includes 2 Artificial Analysis indexes and AutoExacto results for 20 provider observations. Publisher-reported launch results are labeled and are not presented as Kendr measurements; scores from different suites are not treated as interchangeable.
Gemma 4 31B ranked #42 in the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset as of 2026-09-06. Observed within the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset; this is not global AI market share.
Profile data was reviewed for the 2026-09-06 snapshot. Claims retain their source dates, and unavailable fields are shown as unavailable instead of estimated.
Profile facts
- Profile type
- Model research profile
- Provider or publisher
- Context window
- 262,144 tokens
- Snapshot date
- 2026-09-06
- Knowledge cutoff
- Not disclosed
- Reference catalog ID
- google/gemma-4-31b-it
When to pick Gemma 4 31B
Gemma 4 31B is a reference profile: Google publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call.
Each condition below is derived from this model's own values in the 2026-09-06 snapshot, compared only against models publishing the same field.
- Reach for it when the input includes images. The snapshot records image input, so screenshots, scans, and diagrams can be sent directly instead of described.
- Reach for it when the model has to call tools. Tool calling is recorded in the snapshot, so this route can drive an agent loop rather than only answer in prose.
- Look elsewhere when you need to call it through Kendr today. This is a research reference profile with no Kendr alias. The facts and evidence here are published for comparison; the model is not routable on Kendr.
Context, modalities, and identity
Gemma 4 31B accepts image, text, and video and returns text. The snapshot records prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation, tool calling, video input, and vision as capabilities or interfaces.
- Provider or publisher
- Context window
- 262,144 tokens
- Maximum output
- 16,384 tokens
- Input modalities
- image, text, and video
- Output modalities
- text
- Knowledge cutoff
- Not disclosed
Model overview
Gemma 4 31B Instruct is Google DeepMind's 30.7B dense multimodal model supporting text and image input with text output. Features a 256K token context window, configurable thinking/reasoning mode, native function calling, and multilingual support across 140+ languages. Strong on coding, reasoning, and document understanding tasks. Apache 2.0 license.
- Reference model ID
- google/gemma-4-31b-it
- Canonical version
- google/gemma-4-31b-it-20260402
- Hugging Face ID
- google/gemma-4-31B-it
Capabilities and supported controls
Capabilities and parameters are reported from the dated catalog and source records; their presence does not guarantee identical behavior across every provider route.
- Supported parameters
- frequency_penalty, include_reasoning, logit_bias, logprobs, max_tokens, min_p, presence_penalty, reasoning, repetition_penalty, response_format, seed, stop, structured_outputs, temperature, tool_choice, tools, top_k, top_logprobs, top_p
- prompt caching
- reasoning controls
- structured output
- text generation
- tool calling
- video input
- vision
Dated pricing snapshot
The dated reference snapshot lists $0.09 input and $0.34 output per million tokens. Cached input is $0.012 per million tokens.
These are dated third-party reference prices, not Kendr prices or an availability offer. Routes, tiers, caching, region, and provider policy can change the landed price.
- Price date
- 2026-09-06
- Input
- $0.09 per 1M tokens
- Cached input
- $0.012 per 1M tokens
- Output
- $0.34 per 1M tokens
Provider routes, performance, and uptime
The snapshot retains 15 provider endpoints. Provider prices, context limits, p50 performance, and uptime can differ by route and are not Kendr guarantees.
- Active provider endpoints
- 13
- Best p50 latency
- 0.10 s
- Best p50 throughput
- 525.5 tok/s
- Availability with routing
- 99.97% over the sampled window
- Availability without routing
- 92.56% over the sampled window
- Performance date
- 2026-09-06
| Provider | Quantization | Input / 1M | Output / 1M | Cache read / 1M | Context | p50 latency | p50 throughput | Uptime (1d) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DeepInfra Turbo | fp4 | $0.09 / 1M | $0.34 / 1M | $0.05 / 1M | 262,144 tokens | 0.82 s | 28 tok/s | 99.64% |
| CoreWeave | fp4 | $0.1 / 1M | $0.34 / 1M | $0.1 / 1M | 262,144 tokens | 0.51 s | 42 tok/s | 99.00% |
| Venice | bf16 | $0.12 / 1M | $0.36 / 1M | $0.09 / 1M | 256,000 tokens | 0.83 s | 38 tok/s | 99.67% |
| Chutes | fp4 | $0.12 / 1M | $0.37 / 1M | $0.012 / 1M | 131,072 tokens | 2.67 s | 16 tok/s | 94.05% |
| SiliconFlow | fp8 | $0.13 / 1M | $0.4 / 1M | No verified rate | 262,144 tokens | 2.80 s | 28 tok/s | 93.57% |
| Crusoe | unknown | $0.14 / 1M | $0.4 / 1M | $0.14 / 1M | 262,144 tokens | 0.57 s | 37 tok/s | 99.32% |
| Friendli | unknown | $0.14 / 1M | $0.4 / 1M | No verified rate | 262,144 tokens | 1.36 s | 46 tok/s | 98.92% |
| NovitaAI | bf16 | $0.14 / 1M | $0.4 / 1M | No verified rate | 262,144 tokens | 0.80 s | 32 tok/s | 93.69% |
| Parasail | fp8 | $0.15 / 1M | $0.4 / 1M | $0.06 / 1M | 262,144 tokens | 0.95 s | 25 tok/s | 99.86% |
| DeepInfra Ultra | fp8 | $0.27 / 1M | $0.76 / 1M | No verified rate | 131,072 tokens | 2.20 s | 65 tok/s | 50.59% |
| SambaNova | unknown | $0.38 / 1M | $1.15 / 1M | No verified rate | 131,072 tokens | 1.41 s | 17 tok/s | 98.27% |
| ModelRun [by Modular] | fp4 | $0.75 / 1M | $1 / 1M | $0.75 / 1M | 262,144 tokens | 0.10 s | 138 tok/s | 100.00% |
| Cerebras | fp16 | $0.99 / 1M | $1.49 / 1M | $0.99 / 1M | 131,072 tokens | 0.27 s | 525.5 tok/s | 99.98% |
| DeepInfra | fp8 | $0.13 / 1M | $0.38 / 1M | No verified rate | 262,144 tokens | 1.54 s | 11 tok/s | 96.78% |
| Together | unknown | $0.39 / 1M | $0.97 / 1M | No verified rate | 262,144 tokens | 0.92 s | 10 tok/s | 97.18% |
Benchmark evidence and limitations
The 2026-09-06 snapshot includes 2 Artificial Analysis indexes and AutoExacto results for 20 provider observations. Publisher-reported launch results are labeled and are not presented as Kendr measurements; scores from different suites are not treated as interchangeable.
Third-party catalog fields normalized from the cited model dataset; benchmark methodology and coverage differ by source.
- Coding Index
- 43.4
- Agentic Index
- 6.8
- AutoExacto coverage
- 20 provider observations over 32 days
AutoExacto provider benchmarks
Rolling provider observations from the cited third-party benchmark view. The lookback is 32 days; GPQA Diamond and TAU-Bench Airline measure different abilities and should not be blended into one score.
| Provider | GPQA Diamond | TAU-Bench Airline | Runs |
|---|---|---|---|
| auto-routing | 80.78% | 73.24% | 4 |
| Cerebras | 76.81% | 55.83% | 4 |
| Chutes | 81.67% | 41.36% | 4 |
| CoreWeave | 80.54% | 76.08% | 4 |
| Crusoe | 84.18% | 78.31% | 4 |
| DeepInfra | 84.07% | 75.77% | 4 |
| DeepInfra Turbo | 83.19% | — | 4 |
| DeepInfra Ultra | 68.27% | 75.92% | 4 |
| Friendli | 69.25% | 77.55% | 4 |
| ModelRun [by Modular] | 83.29% | 75.1% | 4 |
| Morph | 81.49% | 76.37% | 2 |
| NovitaAI | 83.23% | 69.96% | 4 |
| OpenInference | 66.93% | 76.07% | 4 |
| Parasail | 83.87% | 40.16% | 4 |
| Phala | 82.12% | 73.71% | 3 |
| SambaNova | 82.51% | — | 4 |
| SiliconFlow | 84.48% | 50.11% | 4 |
| Together | 84.2% | — | 4 |
| Together | 84.04% | — | 3 |
| Venice | 65.42% | 76.76% | 4 |
Popularity and market context
Gemma 4 31B ranked #42 in the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset as of 2026-09-06. Observed within the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset; this is not global AI market share.
- Third-party catalog rank
- #42
- Global market share
- Not inferred
- Observation date
- 2026-09-06
Frequently asked questions
When should I use Gemma 4 31B?
Gemma 4 31B is a reference profile: Google publishes it, Kendr documents it for comparison, and it carries no Kendr alias to call. Reach for it when the input includes images: The snapshot records image input, so screenshots, scans, and diagrams can be sent directly instead of described. Reach for it when the model has to call tools: Tool calling is recorded in the snapshot, so this route can drive an agent loop rather than only answer in prose. Look elsewhere when you need to call it through Kendr today: This is a research reference profile with no Kendr alias. The facts and evidence here are published for comparison; the model is not routable on Kendr.
What is Gemma 4 31B?
Gemma 4 31B is a Google model profile with a 262,144-token context window. The dated catalog snapshot records image, text, video modalities and interfaces for prompt caching, reasoning controls, structured output, text generation, tool calling.
What context window does Gemma 4 31B have?
The dated profile lists 262,144 tokens of context and up to 16,384 output tokens. Provider routes, variants, and runtime configuration can impose lower effective limits.
What benchmark evidence is available for Gemma 4 31B?
The 2026-09-06 snapshot includes 2 Artificial Analysis indexes and AutoExacto results for 20 provider observations. Publisher-reported launch results are labeled and are not presented as Kendr measurements; scores from different suites are not treated as interchangeable. Third-party catalog fields normalized from the cited model dataset; benchmark methodology and coverage differ by source.
Is Gemma 4 31B available through Kendr?
This is an independent knowledge profile, not a Kendr-hosted availability claim. Check Kendr's live public model API for currently enabled Kendr aliases.
Does the popularity rank represent Gemma 4 31B's global market share?
Gemma 4 31B ranked #42 in the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset as of 2026-09-06. Observed within the cited trailing-7-day third-party catalog usage dataset; this is not global AI market share. No global market-share percentage is inferred when the source does not publish one.
Sources and evidence dates
- Gemma 4 31B third-party catalog record (catalog, checked 2026-09-06)
- Third-party model catalog methodology (methodology, checked 2026-09-06)
- Google official model documentation (primary, checked 2026-09-06)
- Artificial Analysis capability indices methodology (benchmark, checked 2026-09-06)
- Gemma 4 31B third-party catalog record (benchmark, checked 2026-09-06)